Facebook accidentally publishes Oculus Quest 2 trailers

Started by the-pi-guy, Sep 14, 2020, 11:11 AM

previous topic - next topic

the-pi-guy

nearly 2K x 2K per eye
XR-2 chip
6GB Ram

Legend

That's pretty good. Guess it pays for skipping the first.

kitler53

let me start by saying no marking video should include a phrase like "or if you are a total noobie".   i'm sorry but that word has a very negative connotation and should not be used like in a marketing video.  i was pretty much turned off immediately.

secondly, how bad is the hardware in quest 1?   the gameplay they shouldn't might have been 2k per eye but the game's geometry, textures and such looked terrible.  even worse than psvr which is really old now and wasn't a high bar when it released.

i appreciate "all in one" but not if it means already looking a gen behind.

Featured Artist: Vanessa Hudgens

the-pi-guy

let me start by saying no marking video should include a phrase like "or if you are a total noobie".   i'm sorry but that word has a very negative connotation and should not be used like in a marketing video.  i was pretty much turned off immediately.

secondly, how bad is the hardware in quest 1?   the gameplay they shouldn't might have been 2k per eye but the game's geometry, textures and such looked terrible.  even worse than psvr which is really old now and wasn't a high bar when it released.

i appreciate "all in one" but not if it means already looking a gen behind.

It doesn't really have anything to do with the headset.

The GPU on the Quest is likely 1/6th as capable of the PS4.  Desktop GPUs took a bit to be reasonable. Mobile GPUs are a long ways behind (even the 7 year old PS4).

The saving graces are:
-The Quest 2 would likely have support to wirelessly connect to a PC
-something like DLSS would greatly bridge the gap
-foveated rendering.

I would guess 4 years from now, a Quest standalone would be able to compete.

kitler53

It doesn't really have anything to do with the headset.