Vita was dang good

Started by Legend, Apr 11, 2021, 07:20 PM

previous topic - next topic

Legend

I pull it out every few years just to keep the battery healthy. Man do I miss this system.

Uncharted Golden Abyss, Killzone Mercenary, and LBP Vita are some of my top games to this day. The system also had tons of games I sunk dozens of hours into like Super Stardust, Mutant Blobs Attack, Gravity Rush, Escape Plan, Wipeout, Tearaway, PSASBR, etc. There are games for it that are still on my backlog even.

If I didn't have modern responsibilities I'd probably love modern systems just as much, but Vita was nothing but a success story as an owner. A former Sony employee did an AMA about Vita the other day: I Am a Former Sony Employee. AMA! : vita

Also fun fact. Vita was the first game system to have a screenshot feature.

Another fun fact. I'm a registered Vita dev. I was planning on porting VizionEck way back when before I had a breakdown and went into development hell.

darkknightkryta

I'll always say the Vita had a great library.  There just was too much venom against it.  "There are no games", yet, you just said a bunch and it was well supported for about 3 years.  After that point it just became passive income for Sony, can't say I really blame them.  

I'll say though, the ergonomics of the thing is amazing.  I'll be playing my Switch, thinking it's alright to hold and use.  Then I'll grab my Vita and it's like heaven in my hands.  It fits so well, the buttons press so nice, it's not too big and not too small, I don't have to deal with that god awful drift (That started drifting up now).  If they had a good solution for L2 and R2, that would have been amazing.  

I have a GPD Win 3 coming in, hopefully that will fill the void left by the Vita.

the-pi-guy

Great hardware.