What do you do for a living/career?

Started by Shinobi-san, Aug 19, 2014, 06:06 PM

previous topic - next topic

Shinobi-san

Aug 19, 2014, 06:06 PM Last Edit: Aug 19, 2014, 06:10 PM by Shinobi-san
So i guess its all in the title...

What do you guys do for a living?

Are you studying? Working? Sitting at home doing nothing? :D

And yeah throw in some details if you are open to it...like what are you majoring in or what your job entails etc.

I am currently a BI developer for a small consulting company in South Africa. I initially started out doing support, admin and development for a business process modelling (BPM) tool called ARIS. I basically did everything that was needed in that environment...from maintaining the servers, to programming scripts to assisting and advising users on their solutions and how to use the tool. It was actually quite interesting.

Once that environment was under control and wasn't taking up all my time, my boss asked me to start working on web development. Funnily enough this is what i was initially hired for. However, i kinda sucked at programming and i had little knowledge of web development and in general how client server software works and interacts (i was lazy at uni :P ). With a lot of late nights and help from a genius colleague (he has over 1k points on Stackoverflow!) i managed to get better. I got to become pretty comfortable with PHP, javascript, jquery, html, css and in general how CMS's work.