I like it when games have a definitive ending

Started by kitler53, Mar 14, 2023, 09:53 PM

previous topic - next topic

kitler53

I'm reading this right now:
https://www.resetera.com/threads/aaa-dev-cycles-are-now-sufficiently-long-that-the-industry-wisdom-theyre-built-on-is-often-outdated-or-disproven-even-before-a-game-comes-out.696709/

...and the thought that comes to mind is how much i don't really like games that try to entice me to play it forever.  oh sure, there are a handful of games where this works:
- mario kart
- rocket league
- multiversus

those games all have 1 thing in common.  you play a "match" for a couple minutes and then play another "match".

but more often than not i just want a game to have a definitive ending.  I play it for a while.  I reach a conclusion.  I buy and play another game.   I don't want to just play 1 game for the rest of my life and without that conclusion putting a game down feels very unsatisfying.  

i started playing minecraft dungeons with my kiddo this weekend.  it took me an hour or so to figure it out but i'm really disappointed that this is just all a procedurally generated infinite loop of random levels and loot drops.  i've immediately decided i don't like it.  when there is no specific goal to achieve any progression feels pointless.

call me old fashioned but i like the old business model of single player games without all the GaaSification.

Featured Artist: Vanessa Hudgens

the-pi-guy

This doesn't have to do with GaaS, but I tend to break down games into whether or not they are open ended or have a set list of objectives.

Minecraft is open ended. Farming games tend to be open ended.

Uncharted, God of War have objectives.

Skyrim is a funny case where there's both. There are mainline stories, and then there endless generated quests. But it has objectives so I count it under there.